Staff & Leadership

Beth Schultz Byrnes | Pastor
Pastor Beth in front of Stained Glass

I have been serving God alongside the people of Hope Lutheran Church since Easter of 2017. I appreciate being able to walk with people on their faith journey and catch glimpses of God’s grace at work.  Wisconsin has been home for most my life. I was born and raised in Cedarburg, WI. I graduated from Ripon College, and I earned my MDiv. from Wartburg Theological Seminary. I currently live in Madison with my husband, our three kids, and our dog. Of course, I love Jesus, but I also love a good walk in the woods, a good cup of green tea, and good, quality time with the people I love. 

Marcie Freemyer | Office Administrator
Marcie Freemyer

I have been Hope's office administrator since 2007. I wear many hats here; from creating media for worship services and designing weekly updates, to performing day to day financial duties and maintaining the website. I earned my BA in Communications from UW-Whitewater and have made Cottage Grove my home since 1998. I am married with 3 sons and a stepdaughter.

Pat Tatzel | Organist
Pat Tatzel sitting at organ.

I have been Hope’s  organist/keyboardist for many years playing for both traditional and contemporary services.  My time here has also given me the opportunity to fill in as director for both the Voices of Hope and handbell choir as needed.   I live in Lodi, Wi with my husband Jack and our cat Gracie.  I also have two grown sons living in Waunakee and Tomahawk.

Sue Opheim | Custodian
Jenna Mood | Children's Choir Director
Jenna Mood

I am thrilled to be working with the children of Hope!  I enjoy running the children’s choir, writing original musicals for the kids, and the many other musical adventures that happen at Hope.  I am a lifelong musician who plays trombone and sings in several bands, including my family group, Mood Family Band.  After studying trombone at UW-Madison, I started my own music arranging business.  My husband and I homeschool our four boys on a small farmette in Cottage Grove.

Council Members |

Troy Freemyer, Council President
Matt Kuehl, Council Vice President
James Timm, Council Treasurer
Donna Niesen-Campbell, Council Secretary
Dan Harvey, Adult Ministry Chair
Diana Tonn, Linda Marks & Denise Snorek, Faith-in-Action Co-Chairs
Gregg Burmeister, Property Ministry Chair
Carol Duffy, Stewardship Chair
Brooke Ecker, Sunday School Superintendant
Shane Reich, Worship Ministry Chair
Shannon Morrison, Youth Ministry Chair